Current Faculty

Andrew Affrunti 

Instructor, CMU Partnership Program

Electronics, Controls and Instrumentation Laboratory Technician

(970) 248-1681

aaffrunt@coloradomesa.edu

 

Marcelo Bergquist

Senior Instructor

Design

marcelo.bergquist@colorado.edu

 

 

 

Mark Borden

Associate Professor, McLagan Family Faculty Fellow

Biomaterials, Microbubbles, Theranostics

(303) 492-7750

Office: ME 267B

mark.borden@colorado.edu

Website

Victor M. Bright

Alvah and Harriett Hovlid Professor, Faculty Director for Discovery Learning

Micro and Nanoelectromechanical Systems

(303) 735-1734 

Office: ME 208

victor.bright@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website



Tim Brower

Sr. Instructor and Director

CMU Partnership Program

Engineering Education, Fluid Mechanics

(970) 248-1662

Office: AEC 213

tim.brower@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Francisco Castro

Instructor

CMU Partnership Program

Mechanical Behavior of Polymers

(970) 248-1564

Office: AEC 215

castrof@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

John W. Daily

Professor

Biomass Gasification, Wild Land Fire Chemisty, MEMS for Propulsion, Laser Diagnostics of Reacting Flows, Combustion​

(303) 492-7110

Office: ME 224

john.daily@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Yifu Ding

Associate Professor

​Gass Formers, Nanostructured Materials, Polymer Nanostructures, Nanoimprint Lithography

(303) 492-2036

Office:ME 269B

yifu.ding@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Martin L. Dunn

Victor Schelke Professor 

Mechanics and Physics of Material Structures​

martin.dunn@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

 

Virginia Ferguson

Associate Professor

Nano-scale Characterization of Materials, Biological Tissue​

(303) 735-5232

Office: ME 210 

virginia.ferguson@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Peter Hamlington

Assistant Professor

Vogel Faculty Fellow

Computational Fluid Dynamics​

(303) 492-0555

Office: ME 222

peter.hamlington@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

 

Steven George

Professor

(303) 492-3398

Office: Ekeley W145B

Steven.George@colorado.edu

 

Michael Hannigan

Associate Professor

Department Chair

​Air Pollution, Air Quality

(303) 735-5045

Office: ECME 120

hannigan@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Daven Henze

Associate Professor

Charles C. Gates Faculty Fellow

Undrgraduate Chair

​Aerosols, Air Quality, Climotology, Atmospheric Chemistry

(303) 492-8716

Office: ECES 114

daven.henze@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Jean Hertzberg

Associate Professor

Flow Visualization, Fluids Education

(303) 492-5092

Office: ME 220

hertzberg@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Sean Humbert

Associate Professor

 

(303) 492-8250

 

 

Office: ECME 136

sean.humbert@colorado.edu

Christoph Keplinger

Assistant Professor

 

 

Office: ECME 134

christoph.keplinger@colorado.edu

 

Jeffrey Knutsen

Instructor

Innovative Instructional Methods, Fluid Mechanics​

(303) 492-8322

Office: ME 132

jeffrey.knutsen@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

 

Daria Kotys-Schwartz

Senior Instructor

Design Center Colorado Co-Director

Idea Forge Co-Director

​Manufacturing, Engineering Education

(303) 492-3174

Office: Fleming Law 130F and ME 136

daria.kotys@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Sehee Lee

Professor

Mollenkopf Faculty Fellow

Graduate Chair

Nanostructured Materials for Electrochemical Energy Systems

(303) 492-7889

Office: ME 275

sehee.lee@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Yung-Cheng "YC" Lee

Professor 

Design, Packaging, and Interconnects for Micro/Nano Systems and Micro/Nano Electromechanical Devices

(303) 492-3393​

Office: ME 122

leeyc@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Baowen Li

Rennie Family Endowed Professor

Phononics and Thermal Metamaterials

Office: ECST 201

baowen.li@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

 

Rong Long 

Assistant Professor

Nonlinear Mechanics of Materials and Structures, Mechanics of Adhesion and Fracture

(303) 492-3295

Office: ECME 273

rong.long@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Nathan McNeill

Instructor

CMU Partnership Program

Engineering Education, Thermal Energy Systems​

(970) 248-1623

Office: AEC 206

nmcneill@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

 

Corey Neu

Donnelly Family Endowed Associate Professor

Multiscale Biomechanics and Imaging, Cell and Nuclear Mechanobiology

Office: ECME 130

cpneu@colorado.edu

Website

 

Jana Milford

Professor 

​Air Quality and Pollution

(303) 492-5542

Office: ME 120

jana.milford@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Shelly L. Miller

Professor 

Air Quality, Engineering Controls for Air Pollution

(303) 492-0587

​Office: ECES 112

shelly.miller@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Todd Murray

Associate Professor

Material Characterization, Laser Ultrasonics​

(303) 492-7236

Office: ME 277

todd.murray@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

John Pellegrino

Research Professor

Membranes, Water Treatment, Biomass Fuels Process Development

(303) 735-2631

Office:ECST 205

john.pellegrino@colorado.edu Research Focus/CV

 

Rishi Raj

Professor

Polymer-Derived Ceramics, Materials Science

(303) 492-1029

Office: ME 212

rishi.raj@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Derek Reamon

Senior Instructor and Co-Director, Integrated Teaching and Learning Program & Laboratory

Mechatronics, Engineering Education​

(303) 735-0484

Office: ITLL 1B42

reamon@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Mark Rentschler

Assistant Professor

Design Center Colorado Co-Director

Mechatronics, Surgical Robotics Design

(303) 735-6149

Office: ME 263

mark.rentschler@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Julie Steinbrenner

Instructor

Energy Minor Faculty Director

Thermal and Fluid Sciences, Engineering Education

(303) 492-0449

Office: ME 126

Julie.Steinbrenner@colorado.edu

 

Greg Rieker

Assistant Professor

​Laser-Based Sensing and Control in Energy, Atmospheric and Industrial Systems

greg.rieker@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

 

Jacob Segil

Instructor

Neural Engineering, Prosthetic Limb Design, Engineering Education

Office: ITLL 178

jacob.segil@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

 

 

Shalom D. Ruben

Instructor

Control and System Theory, Mechatronic Systems, Engineering Education

(303) 492-7051

Office: ME 128

shalom@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Conrad R. Stoldt

Associate Professor

Associate Chair

​Nanomaterials, Energy Conversion and Storage

(303) 492-7698

Office: ME 216

conrad.stoldt@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Wei Tan

Associate Professor

​Cardiovascular Bioengineering, BioMEMS

(303) 492-0239

Office: ME 265

wtan@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Oleg Vasilyev

Professor

Computational Fluid Dynamics, Wavelet Methods

(303) 492-4717

Office: ME 214

oleg.vasilyev@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Franck Vernerey 

Associate Professor

Vogel Faculty Fellow

Mechanics of Soft Matter, Computational Multiscale Modeling, Cell/Colloid Mechanics, Tissue Growth and Morphogenesis

(303) 492-7165

Office: ME 124

franck.vernerey@colorado.edu

Website

Jianliang Xiao

Assistant Professor

​Mechanics of Nanomaterials, Stretchable/Flexible Electonics

(303) 492-5428

Office: ME 218

jianliang.xiao@colorado.edu

Research Focus

Website

Ronggui Yang

Associate Professor

S.P. Chip & Lori Johnson Fellow

Micro/Nano​scale and Ulrafast Energy Transport, Nanotechnology for Energy Conversion

(303) 735-1003

Office: ME 279

ronggui.yang@colorado.edu

Research Focus/ CV

Website

Xiaobo Yin

Assistant Professor

Nanomaterials and Metamaterials, Synthetic Materials with Optic, Mechanic and Electronic Properties Not Found in Nature

(303) 492-9689

Office: ME 271 

xiaobo.yin@colorado.edu
Website