Student News and Events

Award Description: The ME Undergraduate Student of the Month Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate leaders who excel in the areas of service, academia, and/or research.  Nominations are submitted by the department's faculty members, with winners selected by the ME Undergraduate Committee.


Award Description: Kenneth Johnsen, a former graduate student in the department was called by others “the quintessential grad student. He was smart, respectful, adventurous, hard working, funny, easy to get along with, scholarly, and had a passion for learning.” While pursuing his graduate studies in Mechanical Engineering, Ken was diagnosed with cancer, and eventually succumbed to his illness. This award was established to honor Kenneth's memory.

It is in the spirit of the above description of Kenneth that the graduate committee solicits nominations for the Kenneth Johnsen Student of the Month Award from the faculty. Faculty members are encouraged to nominate students who embody the qualities which Ken exemplified so well.

Once a student is chosen for the award, a poster with their photo and bio is displayed in the department for that month. In addition, both the photo and bio are posted on our website, featured in the ME Times online newsletter, and sent to the faculty, staff and grad students in an e-mail. At the Graduate Engineering Annual Recruiting and Research Symposium banquet in March these students are recognized with a certificate and a small scholarship.

Undergraduate News


Department Awards for December 2013

Outstanding Graduate for Service - Byron Rudisill

Outstanding Graduate for International Engagement - Alia Ghandour

Outstanding Graduate for Research - Gregory Miller

Outstanding Graduate of the Department - Nicholas Masson


Department Awards for May 2013 

​Outstanding Graduate for Academics – Charles Wheeler

Outstanding Graduate for Academics – Kelsi Middleton (CMU)

Outstanding Graduate for Service – Stanley Chen

Outstanding Graduate for Service – Shweta Maurya

Outstanding Graduate for Research – Oluwaseun Oyatogun

Graduate News

2014 National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship ​

The National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. The NSF welcomes applications from all qualified students and strongly encourages under-represented populations, including women, under-represented racial and ethnic minorities, and persons with disabilities, to apply for this fellowship.



Luke Engvall

Louis Dankovich


Honorable mentions:

Tim Morrissey

Micah Prendergrast


April 2014- Janet Tsai

Janet Tsai has won the PEO(Philanthropic Educational Organization) Scholar Award. P.E.O. (Philanthropic Educational Organization) is a philanthropic organization founded in 1869 to celebrate the advancement of women; educate women through scholarships, grants, awards, loans, and stewardship of Cottey College; and motivate women to achieve their highest aspirations. Janet has been awarded a $15,000 fellowship and is advised by Daria Kotys-Schwartz. Read More...

​Dec 12, 2012

Department News and Events         Student News and Events